Formula 1: last Gp of the Championship 2009 in Abu Dhabi

On next Sunday, last GP of Formula 1 Championship will take place in Abu Dhabi. With the occasion we report overall standings and some information about the circuit of Abu Dhabi (source:

Inspired by the culture and values of Abu Dhabi combined with cutting-edge innovation and luxury features, Yas Marina Circuit is the perfect combination of style and function. The Formula 1™ track (see map reference 01) is 5.55km long. This track can be split in to smaller tracks at 3.1km and 2.4 km each which can operate simultaneously where desired.

Approximately 50,000 spectators can view the action on the circuit from the comfort of permanent, covered grandstands and VIP facilities. Yas Marina Circuit is the only motorsports venue in the world where all of the grandstands are covered.

The Main Entrance (02) brings visitors into the heart of the circuit, passing the Abu Dhabi Motorsports Management building (03) before going under the track to the area behind the Main Grandstand (04) which accommodates almost 7000 spectators opposite the Pit Building (05). The Pit Building has 40 garages for teams and officials and is surmounted by exclusive hospitality facilities. The Team Buildings, which house racing team staff and drivers, are immediately behind while the circuit Medical Centre (12) is at the western end.

Images from the 2009 Formula 1™ Etihad Airways Abu Dhabi Grand Prix and other major events will be broadcast to the world from the Media Centre (06) which will service up to 600 journalists and includes a photography suite, cafeteria and roof-top hospitality.

Patrons enjoying the spectacular view from the West Grandstand (07) will be part of another world first: the run-off for cars which fail to negotiate the tight turn at the end of the long straight passes directly underneath them!

In fact every seat on the circuit has a very special view. Spectators in the North Grandstand (15) will enjoy an arena atmosphere at the hairpin, while those in the South Grandstand (09) have one of the greatest panoramas in motorsport, looking out over the 500 room, 5-star The Yas Hotel (11), the Marina itself and the Yacht Club (10). The seating on top of the Support Pit Building (08) will not only allow spectators to see the support race action up close but take in a broad sweep of the circuit including critical turns around the Marina.

While everyone at the circuit will feel like a VIP, the 60m solar powered Sun Tower (13) is reserved for VVIPs. The Driving School Building (14), Drag Racing Centre (16), Maintenance Building (17), Karting Centre (18) and Business Park (19) will be busy year-round with access via the North Entrance (20).

Yas Marina Circuit is easily accessible by road or air from the UAE and internationally.

Situated on a natural island, visitors traveling by road from Abu Dhabi city can reach Yas Marina Circuit in around half an hour while Dubai is just over an hour away.

Access to the circuit will be by a purpose built 12 lane highway which can be accessed from the Sheikh Maktoum (E10) highway from Abu Dhabi, or the Sheikh Zayed (E11) highway from Dubai.

For overseas visitors, Abu Dhabi International Airport will be just 15 minutes away by road.

Pos Driver Nationality Team Points
1 Jenson Button British Brawn-Mercedes 89
2 Sebastian Vettel German RBR-Renault 74
3 Rubens Barrichello Brazilian Brawn-Mercedes 72
4 Mark Webber Australian RBR-Renault 61.5
5 Lewis Hamilton British McLaren-Mercedes 49
6 Kimi Räikkönen Finnish Ferrari 48
7 Nico Rosberg German Williams-Toyota 34.5
8 Jarno Trulli Italian Toyota 30.5
9 Fernando Alonso Spanish Renault 26
10 Timo Glock German Toyota 24
11 Felipe Massa Brazilian Ferrari 22
12 Heikki Kovalainen Finnish McLaren-Mercedes 22
13 Robert Kubica Polish BMW Sauber 17
14 Nick Heidfeld German BMW Sauber 15
15 Giancarlo Fisichella Italian Ferrari 8
16 Adrian Sutil German Force India-Mercedes 5
17 Sebastien Buemi Swiss STR-Ferrari 5
18 Sebastien Bourdais French STR-Ferrari 2
19 Kazuki Nakajima Japanese Williams-Toyota 0
20 Kamui Kobayashi Japanese Toyota 0
21 Nelsinho Piquet Brazilian Renault 0
22 Vitantonio Liuzzi Italian Force India-Mercedes 0
23 Romain Grosjean French Renault 0
24 Jaime Alguersuari Spanish STR-Ferrari 0
25 Luca Badoer Italian Ferrari 0
Pos Team Points
1 Brawn-Mercedes 161
2 RBR-Renault 135.5
3 McLaren-Mercedes 71
4 Ferrari 70
5 Toyota 54.5
6 Williams-Toyota 34.5
7 BMW Sauber 32
8 Renault 26
9 Force India-Mercedes 13
10 STR-Ferrari 7

The Abu Dhabi Grand Prix 2009 is sponsorized by Etihad Airways.

See also: Etihad, airline sponsoring Ferrari Formula 1 team, achieves a new record

5 thoughts on “Formula 1: last Gp of the Championship 2009 in Abu Dhabi

Lascia un commento

Il tuo indirizzo email non sarà pubblicato. I campi obbligatori sono contrassegnati *