Harrington Steers BMW To Victory In Dubai Golf World Championship Pro-Am


Dubai (UAE): Three-time Major winner Padraig Harrington steered his BMW 3 team of Tom Barry, Mike Tracey and Mike Sim to victory yesterday (Tuesday) in the Rolex Pro Am, curtain raiser to the 2010 Dubai World Championship presented by DP World.

Ryder Cup hero Harrington, who currently lies 18th in The Race to Dubai, proved to be in top form in a 28-team event, which saw stars such as Martin Kaymer, Graeme McDowell, Rory McIlroy, Lee Westwood and Louis Oosthuizen give their amateur partners a day to remember over the championship course.

The Irishman and his amateur partners combined to shoot a winning score of nineteen under par, three shots ahead of runner-up Francesco Molinari and his playing partners Ramesh Prabhakar, Moshe Kohli and Sandeep Singh in the BMW 2 team who took second place on a count-back from Ian Poulter’s Emirates 3 team of Bob Atkins, Peter Jackson and Mathew Warren on sixteen-under.

“Padraig was wonderful to play with,” said amateur partner Tom Barry. “Whenever one of us had a chance to score, he would spend time reading the putts and helping us get the best score we could. He was a real team player.”


Free tickets for the Dubai World Championship presented by DP World, which gets underway tomorrow (Thu) are available from www.dubaiworldchampionship.com. In addition to DP World – Presenting Sponsor for the second year in succession – the Dubai World Championship is supported by Premium Partners Rolex, Emirates, and BMW; Sponsors Atlantis, CNN, The National and Polo/Ralph Lauren; and Event Supporters Dubai Duty Free, MMI, TNT and Toshiba.

Caption: Padraig Harrington and his BMW 3 team of Tom Barry, Mike Tracey and Mike Sim – winners of the Rolex Pro-Am


For further information: Alan Ewens, Dubai World Championship Media Manager, Tel: +97150 4514188 E-mail: alan2804@emirates.net.ae

Search other post about gold in this blog

Lascia un commento

Il tuo indirizzo email non sarà pubblicato. I campi obbligatori sono contrassegnati *