Dubai International Marine Club: Saeed Hareb receives Stefano Casiraghi award

Union Internationale Motonautique (UIM) has honoured Saeed Hareb, UAE Marine Sports Federation Chairman and CEO of Dubai International Marine Club

Read more


Dubai (UAE): Nader Bin Hendi and Arif Al Zafeen brought down the curtain on the UIM Class 1 World Powerboat Championship with their ninth win of the season on a day of mixed emotions at the Emirates/Dubai Duty Free Dubai Grand Prix

On the first anniversary of the tragic loss of powerboat race champions Mohammed Al Mehairi and Jean Marc Sanchez, the Dubai Victory Team’s Fazza crew wanted to mark the occasion with a win dedicated to their team-mates.

And on a day when the Class 1 circus produced the race of the season, they delivered a fitting tribute to Sanchez and Al Mehairi winning from the front despite a titanic effort by EDOX Pole Position World Champions Kolbjorn Selmer and Jorn Tandberg in Welmax. The Norwegians pushed the UAE stars all the way losing out by just 3.81s after 67.74Nm of intense competition.

“On tighter course they might have caught us but today crowns what has been a wonderful season for everyone in the Victory Team,” said throttleman Bin Hendi after wrapping up the 21st Class 1 win of his career with Al Zafeen at an average speed of 178.38kmph. “The whole team has played their part in getting us to the chequered flag and we share the world title with every single one of them.”

Read more


Dubai (UAE): Class 1 World Champions Nader Bin Hendi and Arif Al Zafeen maintained their remarkable 2010 season with win number eight in the opening race of the Emirates/Dubai Duty Free Grand Prix at Mina Seyahi yesterday (Friday).

The Fazza crew have dominated the Class One scene over the past few years and they underlined their supremacy with the 20th race win of their careers some 14 seconds ahead of Team Abu Dhabi’s Rashid Al Tayer and John Tomlinson with Italians Guido Cappellini and Giampaolo Montavoci just over eight seconds further adrift in third with GSG Ceramic Design.

It’s a win that continues their rise through Class 1’s Hall of Fame – now only British racing legend Steve Curtis (40 wins) and Norwegian pilot Bjorn Gjelsten (34) are ahead of them in the modern era.

“With the World Championship already won, there was no pressure on us to win in Dubai,” said throttleman Bin Hendi. “But we wanted to go out and put on a show and that’s exactly what we did. It was a perfect race for us.”

Read more

Dubai: UAE Boats Favourites for Powerboat Glory



– UAE Boats Favourites for Powerboat Glory –

Dubai (UAE): They may have wrapped up the Class 1 World Powerboat Championship in Abu Dhabi less than a fortnight ago but today’s (Tuesday) final race in the 2010 UIM X-Cat World Series Powerboat Championship will see Fazza’s Arif Al Zafeen and Nadir Bin Hendi start as outsiders for the title.

The Class 1 World Champions kept alive their hopes of a world title double by claiming maximum points in the second race in the three-round X Cat World Series in Abu Dhabi last month but trail in fourth place as the season comes to a head at the Dubai International Martine Club this afternoon.

Championship leaders Rashid Al Marri and Salem Al Hamli lead the series in Extreme Marine thanks to a first and a second place finish in the two races held so far. With their nearest challengers over 230 points adrift, the Extreme Marine crew will be hoping for a trouble-free run in the 11-lap 47.88Nm race and a high enough finish to ensure them the title no matter how well the chasing pack do.

“Although we managed to get ahead of Extreme Marine in the last race, we know we need results to go in our favour elsewhere if we are to win the X Cat World Series,” said Bin Hendi. “Rashid and Salem have already wrapped up the regional title and have the boat to go on and win the World Series too – but we can’t think too much about them. It’s up to us to try and win the race and see where we stand at the end of the day.”

Al Zafeen and Bin Hendi currently lie 300 points behind the championship leaders with just 400 points available for a race win.

Yesterday’s (Monday) practice and Pole Position runs saw the Qatar Team duo of Mohammed Al Nasr and Hamad Jassim Mohammed take the honours ahead of title favourites Al Marri and Al Hamli with Al Zafeen and Bin Hendi third quickest narrowly ahead of team mates Talib Al Sayed and Abdullah Al Mehairbi’s Fazza 33.

Despite the Qataris holding pole, all eyes will be on the battle between Extreme Marine and Fazza 3 following their hard-fought head-to-head in the UAE capital last month.

The Fazza victory prevented a fourth straight X Cat win for Extreme Marine and the champions elect will want to wrap up the title in still while seeing off their more illustrious neighbours in a series which sees crews from around the world battle it out in similar catamarans with twin outboard motors.

Read more

Galleria foto Dubai e offshore in alta risoluzione – High res pictures of Dubai and Class 1 offshore powerboat

Read more